The Canadian Screen Awards Red Carpet

TORONTO, ONTARIO –  The 2017 Canadian Screen Awards the Canadian answer to the American juggernaut the Academy Awards was held in Toronto on Sunday, March 12.

A who’s who of Canadian Film, TV, News and Digital attend the lavish red carpeted event broadcast live from Toronto’s Sony Centre for the Performing Arts, with hosted by America’s Got Talent Judge and Deal or No Deal host and proud Canadian Howie Mandel.

Celebrities walking the red carpet included Emmy Awards winner Tatiana Maslany, two of the members of The Tragically Hip, Director Atom EgoyanTantoo Cardinal (who received the Earle Grey Award), iconic stage and screen star Christopher Plummer who received the Lifetime Achievement Award and American funnyman Dave Chappelle who was present to honour Montreal’s Just for Laughs.

Major Award Winners.

  • Best Movie: It’s Only the End of the World
  • Best Director: Xavier Dolan, It’s Only the End of the World
  • Best Actress: Tatiana Maslany, The Other Half
  • Best Actor: Stephan James, Race
  • Best Original Screenplay: Daniel MacIvor, Weirdos
  • Best Drama Series: Orphan Black
  • Best Comedy Series: Letterkenny
  • Best Actress in a Comedy Series: Catherine O’Hara, Schitt’s Creek
  • Best Actor in a Comedy Series: Paul Sun-Hyung Lee, Kim’s Convenience
  • Best Actress in a Drama Series: Tatiana Maslany, Orphan Black
  • Best Actor in a Drama Series: Adrian Holmes, 19-2
  • Fan Choice: Natasha Negovanlis, Carmilla
  • Best Performance in a Variety or Sketch Comedy Program: The Tragically Hip, The Tragically Hip — A National Celebration
  • Lifetime Achievement Award: Christopher Plummer
  • Earle Grey Award: Tantoo Cardinal
  • Icon Award: Just for Laughs

The Canadian Screen Awards honours the best in Canadian film and television, with winners in the Creative Fiction and Non-Fiction categories. The Canadian Screen Awards

Leave a Reply